Do I send my NPD mother a Christmas Gift?

Kworld
Spam Check: No
Spam Sum: 15

Do I send my NPD mother a Christmas Gift?

Post by Kworld » Wed Dec 09, 2009 2:19 pm

I really just have a question that I cannot seem to find the answer to. Do I send my mother a Christmas Gift?

I have been working for 3 years with the effects of my narcisstic mother and have gone through all the motions. Finally this month, the actual reality came. The fantasy of the mother I wanted and the reality of the mother I have, became present at the same time. I hit a grieving process for a week or two. That sounds short but I had already been working through the emotional part of detachment and breaking the enemeshment way before that. Right now, I am again on the "outside" of my mother. However, this time I know I was right and I know she was absolutely, out of line. Of course, no apology from her or remorse of any kind. But even with all the good that has come out of the absolute seperation. I am struggling with the Christmas gift question.

The only way I can rationalize my even wanting to send one. Is that I finally, understand, it is what it has always been. She'll never change. And quite frankly, I don't care if she does or doesn't anymore. However, I am raising my own children. To treat people as they would like to be treated. Even though, she probably won't talk to me for another year, or maybe two this time... if I am lucky maybe five years from now.

Still the question, remains. Do I send my NPD mother a Christmas Gift?
For just the hell of it... I think I also might enjoy sending her a gift, just to rub it in. She is no longer in control of anything I do!! Like a celebration of freedom. Any thoughts greatly appreciated.

NPD Survivor

Grizelda

Re: Do I send my NPD mother a Christmas Gift?

Post by Grizelda » Sun Dec 20, 2009 4:37 pm